menu

Since the establishment of the Coastal Zones Research Institute, the initial core of researchers has gradually increased its critical mass with the recruitment of new scientific and administrative resources.
We have built around this dynamic core of scientists a team of administrative personnel, research professionals, technicians, postdoctoral fellows and graduate students – the researchers of tomorrow.    

The constant evolution of our team’s expertise, both scientific and technical, ensures the quality of our research programs and guarantees the Institute’s long-term success.    

The CZRI fosters transfers and exchanges of expertise and skills among its personnel, and encourages collaboration and the exchange of personnel between its research and service sectors. The pool of expertise can be categorized as follows:

Administration
Aquaculture
Fishery and Marine Products
Peat and Peatlands
Laboratories and Analysis Services

Members of our staff can be reached at the following coordinates:

Telephone: (506) 336-6600
Facsimile: (506) 336-6601

Biographical notes and research interests are available for those individuals whose names appear
with a link.

Léonard Larocque, B.S.A., L.L.B., C.G.A.
L.Larocque

Position: Executive Director / Director division peat and peatland

Education: B.S.A., L.L.B., C.G.A.
E-mail: leonard.larocque@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Daniel Blanchard, B.B.A.
D.Blanchard

Position: Executive Vice Director

Education: B.B.A. (concentration in Business Computing)

E-mail: daniel.blanchard@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Rachelle Boucher, CPA CGA
R.Boucher

Position: Financial Comptroller

Education: B.B.A, CPA CGA

E-mail: rachelle.boucher@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Céline Landry
C.Landry

Position: Administrative Assistant

E-mail: celine.landry@irzc.umcs.ca


Cindy Desylva
C.Desylva

Position: Administrative Assistant

E-mail: cindy.desylva@irzc.umcs.ca


 

Rodrigue Yossa, Ph.D
R.Yossa

Position:Scientific Director

Education: Ph.D. Animal Sciences (Aquaculture)

E-mail: rodrigue.yossa@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Yves Hébert, B. Sc.
Y.Hebert

Position: Aquacole division Coordinator

Education: B.Sc - Major Biology - Minor Chemistry)

E-mail: yves.hebert@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Claude S. Pelletier, B.Sc.
C.Pelletier

Position: Project Leader – Freshwater Fish Aquaculture

Education: B.Sc. (Biology)

E-mail: claude.s.pelletier@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Isabelle Thériault M. Sc.
I.Theriault

Position: Project Leader - Shellfish

Education: M..Sc. (Biology)

E-mail: isabelle.theriault@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Jean-Maurice Boudreau
JM.Boudreau

Position: Technician

E-mail: jean.maurice.boudreau@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Luc Desjardins
L.Desjardins

Position: Technician

E-mail: Luc.Desjardins@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Léopold Haché
L.Hache

Position: Maintenance and repairs

E-mail: leopold.hache@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Claude Landry
C.Landry

Position: Technician

E-mail: claude.landry@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Raoul Lanteigne
R.Lanteigne

Position: Technician

E-mail: raoul.lanteigne@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Caroline Roussel
C.Roussel

Position: Biologist

E-mail: caroline.roussel@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Vanessa Duguay
V.Duguay

Fonction: Technician

Courriel: vanessa.duguay@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Annie Paulin
A.Paulin

Fonction: Biologist

Courriel: annie.paulin@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Jacques Gagnon, Ph.D.
J.Gagnon

Position: Scientific Director - Fishery and Marine Products

Education: Ph.D. (Experimental Medicine), Université Laval (QC), 1986; M.Sc. (Experimental Medicine), Université Laval (QC), 1983; B.Sc. (Medical Biology), Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (QC), 1979.

Honours and awards: Sport Science Award of the IOC President, 2001; Outstanding Service Award (HERITAGE project), 1999.

Areas of research: natural health products, development of marine products, regulations of the Natural Health Products Directorate (Health Canada), clinical tests and biochemical analyses of marine products.
Publications and presentations

E-mail: jacques.gagnon@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Elda Merlini B.Sc.
E.Merlini

Position: Research Assistant

E-mail: elda.merlini@irzc.umcs.ca

 

 

Marion Tétégan, Ph.D.
M.Tetegan

Position: Scientific Director - Peat and Peatlands

Education: Ph.D. soil scienc

E-mail: marion.tetegan@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Mélanie Aubé, Ph,D.
M.Aube

Position: Project Leader

Education: Ph.D. Environment

E-mail: melanie.aube@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Cindie Hébert, Ph.D.
C.Hebert

Position: Coastal Engineering

E-mail: cindie.hebert@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Benoit St-Hilaire
B.StIlaire

Position: Biologist

E-mail: benoit.st-hiliare@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Samuel Jean
S.Jean

Fonction: Research Assistant

Courriel: Samuel.Jean@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Jolaine Arseneau
J.Arseneau

Fonction: Research Assistant

Courriel: jolaine.arseneau@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Isabelle Savoie
I.Savoie

Fonction: Technician

Courriel: isabelle.savoie@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Joannie Lanteigne-Haché
J.LanteigneHache

Position: Technician

E-mail: joannie.lanteigne.hache@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Nadia Tchoukanova, M.A.Sc.
N.Tchoukanova

Position: Director of Laboratories and Analysis Services

Education: M.A.Sc. (Chemical Engineering), Mendéléev Institute of Chemical Technology (Moscow, Russia), 1982;

Publications and presentations

E-mail: nadia.tchoukanova@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Josée Boudreau, Ph.D.
J.Boudreau

Position: R&D Manager - Chemist

Education: Ph.D.Chemistry

E-mail: josee.boudreau@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Mathieu Ferron, M.Sc.
M.Ferron

Position: Quality Controler - Chemist

Education: M.Sc. (Chemistry), Université de Moncton (NB), 2005; B.Sc. (Chemistry), Université de Moncton (NB), 2001.

E-mail: mathieu.ferron@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Claude Pelletier, B.Sc.
C.Pelletier 

Position: Research Assistant and Coordinator of the Chromatography Laboratory

Education: B.Sc. (specializing in Chemistry), Université de Moncton (NB), 1991.

E-mail: claude.pelletier@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Denise Savoie, B.Sc.
D.Savoie

Position: Adjointe à la gestion des laboratoires

Education: B.Sc. (Nutrition), Université de Moncton (NB), 1991; Diploma in Bilingual Secretarial Arts, Université de Moncton (NB), 1982.

E-mail: denise.savoie@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Rachel Haché, B.Sc.
R.Haché

Position: Microbiology Coordinator

Education: B.Sc. (Food Sciences and Technology - Biotechnology), Université de Moncton (NB), 2002.

E-mail: rachel.hache@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Marie-Claude Méthot
M.Méthot

Position: Chemistry Coordinator

Education: Diploma in Analytical Chemistry Techniques, Cégep de Rimouski (QC), 2003.

E-mail: marie-claude.methot@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Annick Comeau
A.Comeau

Position: Technician

E-mail: annick.comeau@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Guy Doiron
G.Doiron

Position: Technician

E-mail: Guy.Doiron@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Daniel E.G. Duguay
D.E.G.Duguay

Position: Sampling Assistant

E-mail: daniel.eg.duguay@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Bertin Gauvin
B.Gauvin

Position: Sampling Project Leader

E-mail: bertin.gauvin@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Valérie Gionet
V.Gionet

Position: Technician

E-mail: valerie.gionet@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Carole Hébert
C.Hebert

Position: Technician

E-mail: carole.hebert@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Lisette Landry
L.Landry

Position: Technician

E-mail: lisette.landry@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Joannie Lanteigne-Haché
J.LanteigneHache

Position: Technician

E-mail: joannie.lanteigne.hache@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Simon Leclair
S.Leclair

Fonction: Chemist

Courriel: Simon.Leclair@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Brenda Ouellette
B.Ouellette

Position: Technician

E-mail: brenda.ouellette@irzc.umcs.ca

 

Kimberley Thomas-Vézina
B.Ouellette

Position: Technician

E-mail: Kimberley.Thomas-Vezina@irzc.umcs.ca